What your Asperger’s / #ActuallyAutistic friend probably wants you to know

Yes! …this! I reblogged this excellent blog post from “the silent wave” because it’s like the author got inside my head! (and expressed those thoughts far better than I ever could) 😀

the silent wave

Dear allistic friends with autistic friends/friends “with” Asperger’s…

I’m an Aspie.  That is to say that I’m on the Asperger’s/autism spectrum.  Being friends with me/us can be somewhat interesting at times.  We may have “quirks”, habits, rituals, behaviors, or other nuances that you might find confusing, interesting, amusing, annoying, or surprising.  You may wonder why we do/did or say/said something in particular.

I’m going to “let you in” on (my personal take on) friendships and bonding with an Aspergian/autistic person.  Anything I’m about to say probably won’t apply to all Asperger’s/autistic people; we’re all different, after all, and we need to be considered as such. 🙂

(I realize that I switch back and forth between “I/me” and “we/us” a lot; that is intentional.  I can only speak for myself, yet I have interacted with many other people on the spectrum, either passively by reading their writing, or actively by talking/chatting…

View original post 1,350 more words

3 thoughts on “What your Asperger’s / #ActuallyAutistic friend probably wants you to know

  1. Omg thank you for the reblog! 😊😊. It’s a huge honor for me, as your blog was one of the first ones I found this spring when I discovered that I might be Aspergian/autistic. I love your posts; it’s like *you* were inside *my* head lol 😉❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Other Side, your blog is currently included on our Actually Autistic Blogs List (anautismobserver.wordpress.com). Please click on the “How do you want your blog listed?” link at the top of that site to personalize your blog’s description.
    Thank you.
    Judy (An Autism Observer)

    Like

Leave a Reply

