The Invocation

It’s interesting as I look back at my early sketches and paintings and see just how ‘Pagan’ I really was, even before I knew anything about Paganism. Here’s another one I did way back in the dark ages when I was on uni break and staying up most of the night to produce my artworks. I was always interested in Earth’s Moon and in my drawings, having more than one moon was even better, as well as making it clear that the scene was of a very alien landscape (which somehow always felt more like ‘home’ than my home did at the time).

“The Invocation” (click image to enlarge)

In this drawing, a very Pagan-looking figure, complete with flowing hooded cloak, is ‘drawing down the moon’.  I’d never heard of this process back then, but that was essentially the idea behind the picture. The trees even have prayer pearls (my alien equivalent of prayer ribbons) hanging in them. A cute little hairy, spiny frog critter looks on in the left foreground area. 😀

I still haven’t gotten around to getting a new scanner so unfortunately the image above doesn’t look quite as clear and vibrant as the original, but it’ll have to do for now. The sketch was done with ball-point pen, coloured pencils and water-based felt pens.

One thought on “The Invocation

  1. Comments for this were happening of Facebook so I thought I might as well post them here too…

    Cassandra D, Gabriel V and Craig Phoenixwolf like this.

    Steve M – Jen, that is beautiful.

    Jenwytch – Thanks Steve 🙂

    Steve M – if i wante to buy some art that would be perfect.

    Gabriel – really beautifull Jen, it draws you in and you’re there

    Jenwytch – thanks guys ♥ 🙂

    Foxy – oh wow….. you really are a talented artist!

    Janine D – Excellent Jenwytch

    Jenwytch – thank you!!! 😀 …feeling all warm and fuzzy on the inside now 🙂

    Foxy – so when do we start seeing the “later” works of yours?

    Jenwytch – Unfortunately there aren’t any “later” works – only a couple that I did a few years ago that are nowhere near as good as my early ones …too long out of practice. I produced a whole lot of drawings over about a 3 year period then basically stopped when uni ended and work started. I keep trying to tell myself I should start drawing again but so far it just hasn’t happened.

    Foxy – you should…. you have a gift that should be shared 🙂

    Autism Mom Rising – Jenny that is gorgeous! And you are right, the symbols are all there. Look, there’s even a the pendulum like thing swinging from a tree. I love the alien world themes – they seem to be common theme for me in my dreams. And Johnny Depp!

    Like

Leave a Reply

