Saturn Return

In astrology, the Saturn return is an alleged phenomenon which is described as influencing a person’s life development at 27 to 29 or 30-year intervals. These intervals or “returns” coincide with the approximate time it takes the planet Saturn to make one orbit around the sun, i.e. 29.4 years. It is believed by astrologers that, as Saturn “returns” to the degree in its orbit occupied at the time of birth, a person crosses over a major threshold and enters the next stage of life. With the first Saturn return, a person leaves youth behind and enters adulthood. With the second return, maturity. And with the third and usually final return, a person enters wise old age. These periods are estimated to occur at roughly the ages of 28-30, 56-60 and 84-90. A fourth return occurs for only a few people, at age 114-118. (From Wikipedia)

I found a nifty Saturn Return Calculator at www.astrocal.co.uk/saturn-return.htm. Click on the link then add your birth date to find out the dates of your own Saturn Returns. Here’s the data for mine…

The Saturn Return

Each twenty-nine years naturally presents us with the challenge to rise to new levels of awareness, or face the consequences of having failed to gain the wisdom required so to do. When Saturn in the heavens returns to the zodiacal degree where he was placed in your birth chart, you are said to be experiencing what astrologers call your Saturn Return – one of the most important times of your life. It only happens once every 29 years, so at around age 28-30, 57-59 and (if you live long enough) 86-88 you have a Saturn Return. This signifies a time of transformation, an emotional transition from one life-phase to the next.

The first Saturn return (around age 28-30) marks the transition from the Phase of Youth to the Phase of Maturity; the second from the Phase of Maturity to the Phase of Wisdom. The last one, if reached, seems usually to mark the transition either to the next world or else back to a second childhood!

As the Saturn return approaches, often our lives seem to speed up, as if hurrying to clear out old baggage from the past, to lighten the load for the next stage. Important things that either finalize old issues, or prepare the ground for new developments tend to occur with increasing frequency. For those who are unprepared, this is often a time of severe suffering, as we struggle to understand the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune that seem to be aimed squarely at our hearts. Indeed, relationships and major life-decisions are all too often the focal points for this clearing out of karmic baggage. (From http://www.astrologycom.com/saturn.html)

I find it interesting that at 29 I was going through some major life changes — giving birth to my first child and leaving my job at the university! Some believe that the second Saturn return will in some way mirror the events that happened on the first, so I guess this means I’ll be going through some sort of birth and ending again …which is kinda what the Saturn return is all about anyway. At least I know I won’t be having another child but, hang on… maybe I’ll be having my first grandchild??? Oooooooh, I wonder? :)

Here’s some more info about Saturn Returns…

The Saturn Return — Myth and Reality

The Beauty of Aging

Image of Saturn from http://www.fileshome.com/images/scr/3414.jpg
11 thoughts on “Saturn Return

Add yours

    1. Aw poor Nat. Maybe during the next 4 years things will gradually improve and your Saturn Return will be the turning point for some stability and that much need break. 😀

      Like

  1. Thanks for posting the Saturn Return calculator, seems like this one is well respected, and according to the calculation, my SR began and ended within the same month — how do I interpret this? I thought it was more a period and/or a cycle? Thanks for any feedback you could offer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Colibri,

      As I’m not an astrologer I can only guess at how you might interpret this. I suppose you could take it to mean that the various issues that arose during your Saturn return were relatively easy to deal with and problems during the month of your return did not last very long(?) …this might apply to your future returns if they are equally short(?)

      As you can see from my chart my first return occurred over a 10 month period, my second will occur over 10 months also, but my third will only be during the 1 month. People born at different times during Saturn’s and Earth’s orbits of the Sun will have different returns which last for different times. Even though yours occurred within a 1 month period it is still part of a 29 year repeating cycle.

      Hope this helps,
      Jenwytch 🙂

      Like

      1. Hi Jenwytch,

        Thanks for your quick response — my Saturn return did go fairly smooth, it came late in my 29th year and a couple of months later, when I turned 30, I recall feeling a sense of relief I’d made it to 30 and also felt much more comfortable in my own skin. My life has been full of returns, rebirths, and feel a longer SR period might’ve been harmful to me. In any case, appreciate your feedback and blessings to you and yours.

        -Colibir

        Like

  2. Could it be true?? Another Aspie who likes astrology as much as I do?? I’m stoked! 🙂 The Saturn Return is an interesting time. I always admire those who pull through it stronger and as better people. I love your writing; I wish I had discovered it sooner! ❤

    Cheers!
    ~The Silent Wave Blog writer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

