A blog ‘facelift’…

I’ve been thinking that this blog needed a facelift for a while now, but until today I couldn’t think of what to do for a header image. I’m happy with it for now, but it’ll probably change again sometime. It combines Pagan symbols with “the (autism) spectrum” in an attempt to represent what this blog is mostly about. πŸ˜€

By the way, the two crescent moons represent the waxing and waning moons in their southern hemisphere orientation. The ‘triple moon’ goddess symbol of waxing/full/waning = maiden/mother/crone could change from this (for the northern hemisphere) to this (for the southern hemisphere). Admittedly the SH version doesn’t have the same visual impact, but it’s more accurate in depicting the actual moon phases.

I think the “Moonstar” font looks rather cute, and appropriate, being made up of squishy little crescent moons and 5-pointed stars.

And for those of you who haven’t seen the previous headers, here they are, with the new one at the bottom…

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

Edit : 30/05/2011 ~ I’ve modified the header a little to make it look more precise, plus added a few stars to match the star background that was added to the blog on 28/5/2011.

9 thoughts on “A blog ‘facelift’…

    1. Thanks Suzanne! πŸ˜€ The more I look at it the more I think I need to tidy up the spectrum part of it — it’s not precise enough and looks a bit wishy-washy. My Photoshop skills aren’t great but I’ll eventually work out a way of getting it “perfect”, lol. Too many other things to attend to in the meantime though. I like the idea for your blog’s name change too. Can’t wait to see it’s new look. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. I love your new header! Simple, very striking, and – as you say – meaningful! I can see you putting out stickers and t-shirts next, Ha ha! Do you mean to say you created it yourself with Photoshop? Well done !!! xxx

    Like

    1. Thanks Birdie! πŸ˜€ Well, I cheated a bit, well um, a lot actually, in that I didn’t create it all from scratch. I found a picture of a pentacle/pentagram that I liked, plus a photo of a light spectrum then carefully blended the two (which was very fiddly and time consuming) and extended the spectrum, which is why it looks a bit wishy washy — my anal perfectionist tendencies require that I redo that bit one day, lol — plus I added the crescent moons (also from a photo — I just reversed it for the other side, as you can see if you look at the craters) then added a lense flare effect and the text and voila! …my new header was born. πŸ˜€ Hmm… it would look rather good on a t-shirt. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I love the new header, and am delighted that SOMEONE has noticed that the moon phases flow, visually speaking, in the opposite direction here in the SH. I keep coming across wiccan aussies who have so little real connection with nautre and her cycles, that they do solar and lunar things in the NH way and never notice that it is incompatible. Once I went to a retreat run by a “Shaman” who had moved here 5 years ago from california, who did a ritual circle (around a bonfire) in the direction east, south, west, north (which is NOT the path of the sun or moon down here – here they go east to north to west ….) and talked about South as being the direction of fire, heat, sunshine, etc, and North as the cool dark earthy direction. Sad, really! So…. thank you so much for restoring my faith in australian pagans and their ability to notice how things really are in nature. It helps!! p.s. I am not and aspie but have two aspie friends and have found most aspies to be wonderful people, especially when female. : )

    Like

  3. Thanks for pointing out the moon phases, I had always wondered why the usual representation never really called to me, and now I know…. my brain was trying to tell me it was wrong…. πŸ™‚ I also never liked that it seemed to represent horns either…

    love the font too πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

