Amethyst Landscapes

I’ve always wanted a decent sized amethyst cathedral geode so I bought one online for my birthday from www.shamanscrystal.co.uk then waited impatiently for it to arrive, which it did today, only 9 days after I ordered it. It was very well packed in newspaper and bubble-wrap, cradled in a sea of foam chips inside a cardboard box which was in turn encased in more foam chips inside another box so it would survive its journey from the UK. (Click on my photos to enlarge them.)

Naturally I neglected the housework and other boring stuff in favour of reorganizing everything on my altar to make room for my lovely new Shiny Thing. To illuminate the inside and make it sparkle, I used a little LED light stand which previously lit up my selenite spire (which has now been moved to another shelf, sans lighting). The light was too bright without anything covering the different coloured LEDs so I tried a few different crystals and crystal clusters on it before finally coming to the conclusion that I should  splurge again (belated birthday present of course, hehe) and buy a new clear quartz crystal for the light stand.

I went to  Crystal Pathways (in the “Windmill Shopping Centre” at Yarrawarrah near Engadine,  in southern Sydney)  and was very pleased to discover there were quite a few suitable crystals to choose from. I eventually narrowed my choice down to 2 beautiful crystal points, but had to use my pendulum to make the final decision. I bought a lovely piece of Tibetan quartz, which looks perfect!  😀

Metaphysical Properties of Tibetan Quartz

From the Himalayas of Tibet, many of these crystals have black inclusions of manganese or carbon and many are also double terminated. They are regarded as being amongst the most powerful stones of spiritual protection ever found. Carrying or wearing one of these crystals creates a “bubble of light” around the body, allowing only positive vibrations to penetrate the auric field. They will purify an area and cleanse it of any negative influences. They emanate energies which can activate and balance the chakras and meridian system. (Crystals of the World.)

Cathedral Geodes

A geode is a rock opening, usually a round hollow created by gas bubbles in magmatic rock or spaces where organic material has been removed in sedimentary material. The nodules are lined with crystals, usually quartz or calcite. Amethyst is commonly seen in geode form. Amethyst Cathedrals (or Churches) are usually tall, thin geodes (resembling church towers) that have been cut to display the sacred inner sanctum of amethyst (and other) crystals. http://www.gemquarry.com/store/pages/crystal-glossary-pv-c0-5.html

My amethyst geode has inclusions of what is probably goethite, which is a hydrated iron oxide mineral which forms in hydrothermal deposits and is a common constituent of soil. Goethite is often found included within Quartz. Amethyst is the purple variety of Quartz, its colouration due to ferrous iron impurities.

Metaphysical Properties & Crystal Healing Uses of Goethite

Goethite stimulates psychic and metaphysical pursuits and aids concentration. Goethite raises consciousness and vibration, enabling clairaudient communication and linking into the angelic realm. Goethite can be used as a divination tool in meditation, and can provide insight into future events. Goethite can attune to the sound of the universe.

Goethite has been used to treat problems in the digestive system. It helps in the treatment of convulsions and can be useful for treating anaemia. http://www.spiritofisis.org/knowledge/crystal_files/goethite.htm

Metaphysical Properties & Crystal Healing Uses of Amethyst

Amethyst provides a channel for earth energies to connect with the spiritual. Amethyst is an excellent meditation and scrying aide which activates the crown chakra. Amethyst is the crystal of spirituality and contentment, assisting one to connect with pure peace humanities natural state of existence. Amethyst opens intuition and spiritual wisdom. Amethyst blocks geopathic stress and protects against psychic attack.

Amethyst is useful in reducing stress, easing headaches and inducing a sense of calm. It assists in bringing restful sleep. It can help reduce bruising and swelling. Amethyst can help with hearing disorders and addictions and is useful in boosting the endocrine system, strengthening the immune system. http://www.spiritofisis.org/knowledge/crystal_files/amethyst.htm

Amethyst Landscapes

I became intrigued by the intricate little world within the geode so after gazing at all the shininess for some time I took some more photos of it to show the miniature landscapes.

Finally, here’s how the geode looks on my altar…

“Blue Amethyst” (The light stand rotates through a number of different coloured LEDs)

All photographs on this page are Copyright © 2010 Jenwytch

10 thoughts on “Amethyst Landscapes

  1. Your Amethyst Geode is gorgeous on its own, & with the Tibetan Quartz & Light in its centre, it is absolutely gorgeous! You picked well!

    Like

    1. Thanks Sharon …I can’t stop looking at it, it’s so shiny and sparkly. I love the feel of the Tibetan Quartz too …so glad you had that particular piece in stock yesterday. 😀

      Like

  2. I enjoyed this post. I have been wanting to explore crystals more for a while now.

    I behind on my regular blogroll with ICWL and my father’s passing. I enjoyed the last two posts too. Even though I am not Wiccan myself I am facinated with the accoutrements, which is why I love looking at your pictures, alters and what not.

    I just found out that there will be another major Intention Experiment tomorrow, this one is a Clean Water Experiment. People can participate by computer, but must pre-register. Here is the link: http://www.thecleanwaterexperiment.com/

    Like

    1. Thanks, and sorry it’s taken a while to reply. I’ve been rather busy here too. Please accept my heartfelt sympathy and condolences for your loss.

      I missed the clean water experiment you mentioned but it looks like there’s another one this coming weekend. Thanks for the link. 🙂

      Like

  3. Another thing I’ve been meaning to mention is that there is a great group blog called Autism Law of Attraction that is moderated by Betsy Hicks.

    I am a contributor. It is open to anyone writing Autism from a positive perspective, which is why I thought of you. It would be great to have someone on The Spectrum involved. So far I’ve submitted two posts from my archives I deemed appropriate. Betsy Hicks and Michelle O’Neil have some stuff up too. Here is the link: http://autismlawofattraction.com/Autism_LOA/Welcome.html

    Like

    1. Looks interesting …I didn’t know about this. I’m not sure that I have any appropriate posts in my archives at the moment but I might try to write something in the future. I think I’m suffering from “end-of-year-burnout” at the moment, feeling like I’ve got 2 seconds to catch up on the year before it all starts again. Can’t think straight and I take even longer than usual to compose something that sounds half decent, lol. Will definitely add the site to my links list. 🙂

      Like

  4. No you didn’t miss the experiment. I had the date wrong. It is this Sat., three hours before my dad’s service. If I can find somewhere to squirrel away by myself with my Android phone I’ll partipate, but if not I guess I miss another one 😦

    I hear you on the end of the year burn out and things taking longer. I am trying to get on with Blogher, but am finding it hard get one post up a week, because, like you, I’m not going to put something up just to have something up; I have to be happy with it.

    Like

    1. Thank you Shannon. To become a witch I would first recommend reading as much as you can about Paganism and Witchcraft (try some of the books listed at the bottom of this page) and try to connect with a Pagan group in your area or online. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

