Runes for a Dog

Shelby at my altar, guarding the runes in the drawer. (Click to enlarge)

My organising and supposed de-cluttering process continues, albeit very slowly. I managed to reorganise a couple of the drawers under my altar so I could keep all my Tarot, oracle cards and runes together in my new magickal space. While packing the cards and some books into the drawer I had them stacked on the floor beside me, and was rather surprised when my dog Shelby came over, picked up a bag of runes and ran off with them. I chased him through the kitchen and he reluctantly let me remove my precious runes unharmed from his slobbery wet doggy jaws. He then sat beside the drawer where I had put them,  sticking his nose in every so often trying to get the runes again. I wasn’t sure if he just liked the blue velour bag or whether he wanted a reading done, but as I wasn’t prepared to part with the bag or their contents I decided to do a reading for him anyway.

The rune I drew for Shelby was Algiz – a symbol of protection and shelter. Temptation may be put in the way of an individual, but this is to be resisted. Emotions must be contained and pain and strife overcome in order to move forward.  Algiz represents the courage we must exercise in order to face our fear of the unknown. Courage is not the absence of fear, but the will to right action in spite of it. It is important to move towards fear rather than avoid it, because it is in the dark areas obscured by your fears that you can truly grow and learn to live fully.

I hope my dog listened well when I read this out to him 😉 for he has many fears which he must learn to overcome …being groomed is one; this is very timely considering my aborted attempts to brush and groom him this afternoon.  He needs to resist the temptation to bite the hand that grooms (and feeds) him and to embrace the temporary discomfort that results from brushing knotted and matted hair, and not fear the scissors which will do away with the pain and the knots ever so quickly, if only he would trust that they really will not hurt him. I hope he understands that it’s all tied in with his protection and shelter and is ultimately for his own good. He’s a clever dog so I’m sure he’s taken it all on board. 😀

My Tarot, Oracle Cards & Runes collection ...with Shelby still sitting beside it (notice the paw at the right) guarding 'his' bag of runes. He didn't move away until I closed the drawer.

As you can see, there’s still plenty of room for more decks, and now there’s space in my upstairs bookcase for all the new books I’ve bought, which previously didn’t have a home. Who knows, I might even have space for more books too — and I could always get a taller bookcase. So much for de-cluttering …but then I don’t really consider books to be clutter and I do find it very hard to part with any of them. Maybe when one of my sons eventually leaves home I can use his whole room for a library and magickal space. Hmm… that’ll be a long time coming …just have to make do with the current arrangement for a while longer I guess. 😀

6 thoughts on “Runes for a Dog

Add yours

  1. Wow. That’s a lot of Tarot decks!

    We have an affirmation we do for my son’s health. He loves it. Says it all the time (but its long & he trails off with his apraxia). He and I make Holy Water, which we call “Intention Water”, based on Emoto’s work. I’m tickled my son gets so into this. Its like he “gets it” without anything having to be explained.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I know it’s a lot – bit of an obsession I guess. 😀 Although I know some people who have more, lol. I love the artwork in them as well as the “philosophy” of each particular tarot deck. There are many more decks that just don’t “grab” me, plus more that do, which I have so far resisted the urge to buy. They’ve taken a few years to gradually collect but in spite of having so many I really don’t use them all that much, and as a result I still can’t do a tarot reading without consulting the guide books for each one — it takes far more practice and dedication than I’ve devoted to it so far.

      I love the idea of the affirmation and your “Intention Water” (and your “Leap of Faith” series). It’s amazing how much of this sort of thing our kids do “get” before they’re exposed to too much of our generally skeptical western society. Your son made an excellent choice when he picked you to be his mum. 😉

      Like

    1. Nope, lol …they are some kind of baked clay-like stuff. They came with a Ralph Blum runes book. Fortunately Shelby didn’t grab my nice hematite runes in the black satin bag — my favourites. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

