In a galaxy far, far away…

…there was a planet named Arrakis, otherwise known as Dune.

In case you haven’t noticed my blog’s appearance has changed slightly. I’ve chosen a new theme with a much wider page allowing for larger images to be displayed. I thought I’d start with a couple of drawings I did many years ago which were inspired by Dune, a science fiction novel written by Frank Herbert and published in 1965.

Fremen spice hunters on the planet Arrakis, known as “Dune”. (Click image to enlarge)

And yes — before anyone comments on it — I know the title of this entry is a line from Star Wars, but hey, it sounded good, lol.

Set in the far future amidst a sprawling feudal interstellar empire where planetary fiefdoms are controlled by noble houses that owe an allegiance to the Imperial House Corrino, Dune tells the story of young Paul Atreides (the heir apparent to Duke Leto Atreides and the scion of House Atreides) as he and his family accept control of the desert planet Arrakis, the only source of the “spice” melange, the most important and valuable substance in the universe. The story explores the complex and multi-layered interactions of politics, religion, ecology, technology, and human emotion, as the forces of the Empire confront each other for control of Arrakis and its “spice”. (More at Wikipedia)

Entrance to the Fremen spice hunters’ underground cities. (Click image to enlarge)

My first drawing was copied from the cover art on the edition of the book which I had at the time. Either my book was slightly different to the image I found online (left) or else I changed the scene by adding the harvester, which may have been on the back cover.

I honestly can’t remember if the second drawing was all my own work (with copied aircraft of course)  or whether it was perhaps based on the book covers of the first two sequels, Dune Messiah and Children of Dune (of which I can’t find any matching covers online to prove or disprove that idea) or perhaps influenced by the 1984 film based on the books (?). I’d love to say it was all from my own imagination but I can’t be certain. In any case, I’m quite proud of both of these drawings, copied or not.

As usual, these pictures were created with my favourite mediums – ballpoint pen and coloured pencils on thick paper/thin cardboard. The actual size of the first drawing is only 120mm x 190mm — the scan makes it look much larger. The second drawing was done 17 months later and is 230mm x 320mm. It was too big for my scanner so I had to scan each end separately then join them with Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

