Reflections

07-reflections1

“Reflections” – click on the image for a larger view.

Time for another of my artworks. 😀 I remember when I drew this one many moons ago and showed it to my parents, my father snorted/laughed at the pussy joke, my mother didn’t get it and both of them were  quite confused and a little disturbed by the imagery overall, Mum more so than Dad. Although, they did say it was very well drawn, LOL. As with a lot of my works at the time, this one is about opposites, reversals and mirror images, reflections and ripples in time and space, dualities, split personalities, progress, dichotomies, contradictions, alternatives and possibilities. In many ways, nothing much has changed since then – I still live a double existence, always hiding aspects of myself and my thoughts and ideas to blend in when necessary. I guess everybody does to some extent. Maybe Aspie Witches have more to hide, LOL.

9 thoughts on “Reflections

Add yours

  1. The more you look the more you see, I think it is interesting that it is a male represented, but I guess that is an opposite…

    and yes the pussy joke is funny! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Owl and Foxy! 😀

    Yep, the slightly effeminate male does represent an opposite, as do the distinctly feminine eyes looking out from the centre. It’s also symbolic of my inner thoughts, gender-bending fantasies and alter egos of the time …all rather complex and convoluted, LOL.

    Pussies are definitely easier to draw than beavers, PMSL 😉

    Like

  3. Thanks Lori …it’s fun getting such great feedback about my art. It hasn’t seen the light of day for a very long time and now I’m getting “brave” enough to put some of it online I really appreciate all the positive comments I’ve had so far. 😀

    I guess even King Kong was making a statement in his own unique way about differences, acceptance and the idea of “live and let live”, so it seemed fitting to add him into the mix as well, LOL.

    Like

  4. Wow! – Did you really create that back when you were a student? I remember you showed me some of your amazing art back then but my memory is very vague.
    I also find opposites very exciting and intriguing. One of my favourite quotes is (Jung I think) “out of the union of opposites comes transcendence” which for me describes the brilliant AHA! feeling when I discover or accept that the opposite (of some belief of mine) is also true.
    (I suspect Jung had a different and convoluted meaning, though.)
    Well, thanks for the look at your picture which has obviously really got me thinking…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Birdie! 😀 …yep, I drew it waaaaaaaaaay back then when I had the time to spend on such pursuits and the drive to do it. I keep telling myself I really should make time to get back into drawing again, but my recent efforts have been quite inferior in quality – I’m reeeeally out of practice, and its a little disheartening.

    I love that quote from Jung, and I’m glad my picture has got you thinking. Thinking is always good …especially on a Thursday 😉 …hee hee

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

