Tarot and Oracle Cards

pentacles-aceStarting next year and continuing over five years I’ll be working with and learning more about the Tarot as part of the activities of the Dark Moon Circle I’m in – the Inner Realm Of Ynys Witrin. So I thought I’d take a look at the tarot and oracle decks I own and decide on which deck I’ll be using most in my studies.

I seem to have collected quite a few decks (mostly oracle cards rather than tarot cards). There’s just soooo many to choose from and some that really appeal to me.  However, sometimes its hard to know whether I’ll really like a deck, just from the packaging  (I have asked on a couple of occasions to see an unwrapped set but often that’s not possible), so I have ended up with a couple that weren’t quite what I was expecting.  Still, those ones may one day become more attractive to me, for whatever reason and I may go back to them some time in the future …like the Celtic Dragon Tarot for instance. Initially I wasn’t totally happy with it, but now I am drawn to it more and more. I’ve decided it will be the primary deck I use for my tarot studies.

I’ve since found a website called Aeclectic Tarot which has images and reviews of hundreds of tarot and oracle decks which may help others in their choices.

The decks I own are shown below, with descriptions in most cases copied from the Aeclectic Tarot website. Click on the headings to see the cards…

Tarot Decks

The Mythic Tarot

by Juliet Sharman-Burke & Liz Greene & Tricia Newell

“Gods and Goddesses, demigods, heroes and villains from Ancient Greek mythology and legends are depicted on each of the 78 Tarot cards in the popular Mythic Tarot. First published in 1989 and reprinted almost every two years afterwards.”

I quite like this one, as my very first tarot deck, but it’s still not “perfect”. I’ve never studied the tarot as deeply as I perhaps should have and only now realised that it aligns Swords with Air and Wands with Fire, which is not the same associations I generally work with during ritual/spellwork. Maybe that’s why it doesn’t feel quite right?

The Oracle Tarot

by Lucy Cavendish

This one’s interesting, and has only 64 cards – no court cards. It’s definitely more “upbeat” in its interpretations than a lot of the others. Swords=Fire and Wands=Air in this deck.

The Dragon Tarot

by Nigel Suckling

“This is an attractive 78-card deck that blends dragonology and the European Tarot tradition. Dragons feature on the majors, aces and courts, but the numbered cards are essentially pip cards with a landscape background.”

I found this one a little disappointing after unwrapping it. The court cards and the major arcana are illustrated interestingly enough but the numbered cards have rather boring imagery. Swords=Air, Wands=Fire.

The Celtic Dragon Tarot

by D.J. Conway & Lisa Hunt

“Dragons are the theme of this deck and they appear on every card in the Celtic Dragon Tarot, with or without humans. The scenes are traditional tarot with a few changes – Swords are associated with Fire and Wands with Air.”

I wasn’t so certain about this one at first but now I’m starting to like it more and more. And it has Swords=Fire and Wands=Air  …the way I prefer it. 🙂

Divination & Oracle Decks

Healing with the Angels Oracle

by Doreen Virtue

“44 cards of differently-styled angel pictures with multi-coloured borders. Each card in the Healing with the Angels Oracle stands for a trait or activity, such as Listening, Forgiveness, or Spiritual Growth. A gentle and positive oracle deck.”

Archangel Oracle

by Doreen Virtue

“The Archangel Oracle Cards feature 15 angels from various religions and traditions over 45 cards. A popular set for people who have never used Tarot cards.” (There’s not much info about this one on the Aeclectic Tarot website so its linked to Hay House, the publisher.)

Goddess Guidance Oracle

by Doreen Virtue

“The Goddess Guidance Oracle has 44 pretty cards for feminine guidance, featuring goddesses from around the world from Mother Mary to Kali.”

Archetype Cards

by Caroline Myss

“The Archetype Cards are a richly and vibrantly coloured set of 80 cards with light and shadow attributes (keywords) on each card. For divination, meditation or understanding.”

The Druid Animal Oracle

by Philip & Stephanie Carr-Gomm

“The Druid Animal Oracle has nicely drawn and detailed pictures of animals familiar to the Druids, each symbolic of particular attributes such as the Dragon. A thorough knowledge of British landscapes, flora and fauna would be helpful in interpretation, but it’s a gorgeous deck.”

Animal Spirits Knowledge Cards

Paintings by Susan Seddon Boulet and text by John Nagiecki

“The Animal Spirits Knowledge Cards are a collection of 48 paintings of animal spirit beings, by Susan Seddon Boulet (who also created the Goddess Knowledge Cards).”

Animal Dreaming Oracle Cards

by Scott Alexander King

“Developed with the corresponding energies of the four directions in mind, the uniquely Australian Animal Dreaming Oracle embraces this ancient concept in a manner more befitting our times. Instead of the traditional claws and bones, it presents the animal energies to the people as beautifully illustrated portraits, with each animal’s Dreaming clearly interpreted in the accompanying guidebook, allowing you to give and receive accurate and inspirational readings for yourself and others.” (Not featured on the Aeclectic Tarot website.)

The Well Worn Path

by Raven Grimassi & Stephanie Taylor

“The Well Worn Path is a set of 40 cards designed around Pagan teachings and depicting tools, deities, concepts and rituals. It’s especially for Pagan, Wiccans and Witches and can be used for divination, meditation, or in rituals.”

There’s still one more deck which I’d like to have…

Oracle of the Dragonfae

by Lucy Cavendish

“The Oracle of the Dragonfae has 43 cards celebrating the Goddess in the form of a dragon. It is attributed to Australian deck creator, Lucy Cavendish, but actually has cards contributed by seven different artists.”

I’ve ordered it online and it should arrive soon. Yay! 😀

2 thoughts on “Tarot and Oracle Cards

  1. I enjoyed your review, I find I keep going back to Ryder Waite,and have given dozens of decks away, that I feel no longer serve me or I just was the gift giver and the cards were never mine . I would buy decks more for the art work on them rather than for divination, I was especially fond of the art work on the Russian deck……cg&m

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 I find I’m drawn to decks for their artwork too. If I’m not happy with how a deck looks, I find it more difficult to use as a divination tool. Sometimes they don’t quite work out, but I still keep them anyway cos they’re pretty. I’m a bit of a hoarder I think, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

