For Xmas 1997

(Poem included inside a Xmas card to Sue & Bruce, December 1997)

To send a rhyme,
there isn’t time
so this will have to do.

It’s late at night,
I look a fright,
while writing this to you.

I need my sleep,
for my looks to keep,
so this is all there’ll be.

It isn’t much
but then, as such,
it’s better than nothing for thee.

Oh what a pity
this little ditty
is going nowhere fast.

I seem to write
my best at night
long after bedtime has passed.

If this is my best
I hear you jest
then what could be much worse?

Try as I might
I cannot write
another single verse!

(Poem written 18/12/1997)
Copyright © 1997-2012 Jenwytch

Leave a Reply

