A 50th Birthday Poem – 2 Variations

1. Robyn’s 50th (January 2008)

When you turned forty I wrote you a verse
and did promise another at fifty.
As the years have gone by, my rhyming’s got worse
and it ain’t sounding near so nifty.

But try as I might,
to write more tonight
the words just won’t freely flow.
Old age has hit hard
on the mind of this bard
…the brain is starting to go.

As you can see my phrasing is wrong
The line length is all askew.
This poem I’d better hurry along
before midnight and next day anew.

Oh crap! … this poem is fast coming apart
But the sentiment’s plain to see
From one old fart to another old fart
Happy Birthday, Best Wishes to thee!

(Poem written 14/01/2008)
Copyright © 2008-2012 Jenwytch

2. Birdie’s 50th (February 2008)

When you turned forty I wrote you a verse,
so here is another for fifty.
But as time’s gone by, my rhyming’s got worse
and it ain’t sounding near so nifty.

So try as I might,
to write more tonight
the words just won’t freely flow.
Old age has hit hard
on the mind of this bard
…the brain is starting to go.

If only I hadn’t have missed my chance
to write on “Dog’s Day For Thinking”!
Me thinks this poem (just taking a glance)
is at risk of rapidly sinking.

Now fifty is special, deserving of luxury,
extravagance, and all things good.
To celebrate Birdie’s momentous half century
I thought this poem possibly could.

But as you can see my phrasing is wrong,
the line length is all askew.
Be thankful I’m not trying to put it to song,
…perhaps I should just say, “Adieu”?

Oh crap! … this poem is fast coming apart
But the sentiment’s plain to see
From one old fart to another old fart
Happy Birthday, Best Wishes to thee!

(Poem written 22/02/2008)
Copyright © 2008-2012 Jenwytch

Leave a Reply

